Nonprofit Board Service: Is it time for you to lead?

Yvonne BellBy Yvonne Bell
Director of Development, Center Theatre Group – L.A.’s Theatre Company and Broads Circle Premium Member

I was really impressed with the recent Broads Circle event, Women on Corporate Boards – key questions were discussed, including “How do I get on a corporate board?” to “What can it do for my career?”  It reminded me of the importance of women serving on nonprofit boards and the important role this experience can play, both professionally and personally.

It is for this very reason that I was honored to be asked to put together a session on what it means to serve on a nonprofit board.  However, I didn’t just want to do a panel; I wanted people to walk away with new contacts and solid opportunities on how to take that next step and become involved with a nonprofit that inspires them.  Even though I thankfully missed the whole “speed dating” scene, I wanted to make the breakout sessions work a bit like speed dating to give nonprofits as well as attendees the opportunity to make some key introductions and to determine if there was a “click.”  If so, candidates and non-profits would have a chance to exchange contact information and have a subsequent exploratory conversation.  Admittedly, I have not done anything like this before, but I am really hoping that it works.  Having worked at nonprofit organizations for my entire career, I know the importance of Board Members to the goals of nonprofits, and equally, I know the fulfilling and rewarding experience it can give the individual. 

We’re thrilled that Regina Birdsell, President & CEO of the Center for Nonprofit Management (CNM) and Belinda Madrid Teitel, VP of Education and Leadership Development at the Center, will kick-off the program with a “nuts & bolts” session on what it means to serve on a nonprofit board – from how do you get on a board, to what are the service requirements, to why it is beneficial.  Following this panel, our 11 nonprofit organizations will be introduced.  The Executive Director and a Board Member from each organization will be in attendance (click here to view the list).  Our nonprofit guests will be stationed at round tables with information about their organization and board service requirements.  If you are thinking about serving on a nonprofit board or are just interested in learning more, I encourage you to attend this informative evening and to talk directly with the leaders who are making a difference in our community.

Bring copies of your resume and give some thought to the following four questions:

  1. What skills and networking resources do I have to offer?
  2. How much available time do I have to give?
  3. How much of an annual financial commitment can I afford?
  4. Which nonprofit mission inspires me?

I guarantee you that serving on a nonprofit board will be one of the most rewarding experiences of your life.  Join us!   CLICK HERE TO LEARN MORE

Yvonne Bell, Director of Development, Center Theatre Group, Los Angeles
http://www.centertheatregroup.org
Leave a Reply

